• Virginia Workers’ Compensation Commission Welcomes Two New Deputy Commissioners

[Richmond, VA]-  The Virginia Workers’ Compensation Commission welcomed two new Deputy Commissioners during a Swearing-In Ceremony on Tuesday, September 14th, 2021 at the Commission’s Headquarters. Honorable John T. Cornett will serve the Richmond area and Honorable Josh Wulf will serve the Fairfax region.

Honorable John T. Cornett, Jr. is a native of Petersburg, Virginia.  He was born into a blue-collar family and was the first in his family to attend college. He earned a Bachelor of Arts in Political Science from Virginia Polytechnic Institute and State University (Virginia Tech), and his law degree from the T. C. Williams School of Law at the University of Richmond.

For over twenty years John has represented clients regarding workers’ compensation issues.  He has represented injured workers, employers, insurance carriers and medical providers before the Virginia Workers’ Compensation Commission and the Court of Appeals of Virginia.

John has been a frequent lecturer at seminars and continuing legal education programs, discussing issues involved in workers’ compensation law as well as ethics.  At various times, John has been a member of the Virginia Trial Lawyers Association and the Virginia Association of Defense Attorneys.  He is currently a member of the Virginia Workers’ Compensation American Inns of Court.



Honorable Josh Wulf is a graduate of Duke University and William and Mary Law School. Prior to joining the Commission, he spent 24 years representing local businesses, global corporations, and insurance companies in workers’ compensation matters. During his time in private practice he opened, expanded, and led the Northern Virginia office of an established firm.




  • The IAIABC hosted a Judicial Educational Program on September 21st and 22nd and over 50 workers’ compensation judges attended. Judge Deborah Blevins (VA) was an organizer of the conference, which was a phenomenal program for all who were able to attend. The following NAWCJ judges were speakers on the program agenda: LuAnn Haley (AZ), Shannon Bruno Bishop (LA), Bruce Moore (KS), Kenneth Switzer, (TN), Meng Li Che (WA), and David Cicola (PA).